About us

Owner of the company is Mag. Bernhard Maier, MA, CFE. During his studies of political science at the University of Vienna he focused on politics related to criminal legislation and criminal justice. He graduated with an empiric study about the political aspects of organised crime. In addition, he studied risk- and security-management at the University of applied Sciences Campus Vienna.

Since 1993 Bernhard Maier works in the private-investigation- and security-business. In 1996 he established his own agency, which is licensed by the Republic of Austria for professional private investigation as well as security-services. Presently the company has two offices, one based in Vienna the other one in Lower-Austria.

Along with his work in the private investigation- and security-business Bernhard Maier publishes articles on criminological topics in special-interest-magazines and the daily press (such as Kriminalistik, Öffentliche Sicherheit, Der Kriminalbeamte, Wiener Zeitung).

He is the author of the book Der Detektiv-Report" (published by Ueberreuter, Vienna 2001) which is an authentic insider-report of the business of private investigation.

Bernhard Maier belonged to Austria's most successful new coming entrepreneurs in the year 2000 and is a representative of the Austrian economy in the public. As a member of the Austrian Association of Detectives (ÖDV) he works on structural and legal improvements for the Austrian economy.

2017 Bernhard Maier published the book "Pre-Employment-Screening", in which he introduces a riskbased screening-guideline for a recruiting process.

Bernhard Maier underwent licensing as an expert-witness for the industry of private investigations in Austria in 2008. Austrian authorities and courts use his expertise when they are in need of evaluations regarding investigative work. Furthermore he is a licensed risk-manager (ISO 31000) and a certified fraud examiner.

The agency BM-Investigations e.U. is a member of several international associations of the industry. Bernhard Maier therefore is well connected to other investigation and security-professionals around the globe.




Certifications

Justiz Certified Fraud Examiner Sicher Wien
Güte Siegel Berufsdetektiv ISO 31000 Austrian Standards



Publications

1997-12 Öffentliche Sicherheit, Das Geschäft mit dem Personenschutz 1999-02-26 Wiener Zeitung, Die gezähmte Metropole 2000-03 Industrie, Langfinger im Betrieb 2001-04-20 Wiener Zeitung, Von Abschreckung bis Yoga 2001-04-20 Wiener Zeitung, Wortklauber und Handleser 2004-08-20 Wiener Zeitung, Der Spurenleser 2012-04 Der Detektiv, Das Newton Experiment 2017-02, Der Personalmanager, Pre-Employment-Screening - Bewerbern in die Karten schauen 2018-12, Dako - Datenschutz konkret, Datenschutzrechtliche Zulässigkeit von Background-Checks bei Bewerbern 2019-04, Personalmanager, Bewerber-Check - Pre-Employment Screening in Zeiten der DSGVO



Memberships

BM-Investigations is globally connected and a member of the national and international associations:

The Association of british Investigators Association of Certified Fraud Examiners ASIS International BDD- Bundesverband deutscher Detektive CII International Intelligence Network ÖDV W.A.D. - World Association of Detektives

Berufsdetektiv Mag. Bernhard Maier

Inhaber der Agentur BM-Investigations e.U. in Wien ist Mag. Bernhard Maier, MA, CFE. Im Verlauf seines Studiums der Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Wien beschäftigte er sich schwerpunktmäßig mit Fragen der Kriminalpolitologie und diplomierte mit einer empirischen Forschungsarbeit über politische Aspekte organisierter Kriminalität. Darüber hinaus studierte er Risiko- und Securitymanagement an der Fachhochschule Campus Wien.

Seit 1993 ist Bernhard Maier im Detektiv- und Sicherheitsgewerbe tätig. 1996 erfolgte die Gründung des Unternehmens, das staatlich für das Berufsdetektiv- wie auch das Bewachungsgewerbe konzessioniert ist. Gegenwärtig verfügt die Agentur von Bernhard Maier über zwei Standorte, die sich in Wien und Niederösterreich befinden.

Neben seiner Arbeit im Detektiv- und Sicherheitsgewerbe publiziert Bernhard Maier laufend Beiträge zu kriminologischen Themen in der Fach- und Tagespresse (unter anderem Kriminalistik, Öffentliche Sicherheit, Der Kriminalbeamte, Wiener Zeitung).

Er ist Autor des Sachbuchs "Der Detektiv-Report" (erschienen im Verlag Ueberreuter, Wien 2001), einem authentischen Insider-Bericht aus dem Detektiv-Gewerbe.

2017 veröffentlichte Bernhard Maier das Buch "Pre-Employment-Screening", in dem er einen risikobasierten Praxisleitfaden zur Bewerberüberprüfung im Personalauswahlverfahren vorstellt.

Bernhard Maier zählte im Jahr 2000 zu den erfolgreichsten Jungunternehmern der heimischen Wirtschaft und bemüht sich um diese in den Gremien der Standes- und Interessenvertretung. Seit 2008 ist er in der Liste der gerichtlich beeideten Sachverständigen für das Gewerbe der Berufsdetektive des Landesgerichts Wien eingetragen. Außerdem ist er nach ISO 31000 zertifizierter Risikomanager und zertifizierter Betrugsermittler (CFE - certified fraud examiner).

BM-Investigations e.U. ist Mitglied mehrerer internationaler Netzwerkorganisationen der Sicherheitsindustrie. Bernhard Maier verfügt daher über Kontakte zu Sicherheitsprofis auf der ganzen Welt.




Zertifizierungen

Justiz Certified Fraud Examiner Sicher Wien
Güte Siegel Berufsdetektiv ISO 31000 Austrian Standards



Publikationen

1997-12 Öffentliche Sicherheit, Das Geschäft mit dem Personenschutz 1999-02-26 Wiener Zeitung, Die gezähmte Metropole 2000-03 Industrie, Langfinger im Betrieb 2001-04-20 Wiener Zeitung, Von Abschreckung bis Yoga 2001-04-20 Wiener Zeitung, Wortklauber und Handleser 2004-08-20 Wiener Zeitung, Der Spurenleser 2012-04 Der Detektiv, Das Newton Experiment 2017-02, Der Personalmanager, Pre-Employment-Screening - Bewerbern in die Karten schauen 2018-12, Dako - Datenschutz konkret, Datenschutzrechtliche Zulässigkeit von Background-Checks bei Bewerbern 2019-04, Personalmanager, Bewerber-Check - Pre-Employment Screening in Zeiten der DSGVO



Mitgliedschaften

BM-Investigations ist global vernetzt und Mitglied dieser nationalen und internationalen Berufsverbände:

The Association of british Investigators Association of Certified Fraud Examiners ASIS International BDD- Bundesverband deutscher Detektive CII International Intelligence Network ÖDV W.A.D. - World Association of Detektives